Not my last post

Berkeley, CA. 12:24am.

And so, at the snap of my fingers, it’s over. I’m not sleeping on a picnic table in a community park tonight, nor am I getting up at 05:30 to eat tortillas filled with tuna for breakfast. I don’t have to stress about making my 76 miles and 3 posts a day – nor do I have to worry about people making donations or reading and liking my blog. I won’t have to ask people for directions, but I also won’t be making friends with complete strangers on a daily basis. Tomorrow, I won’t be forcing my sore leg muscles to propel me further down the road than they want to – but I also won’t feel the intense satisfaction of just having forced my muscles to propel me those extra miles. It’s a great feeling knowing where I’ll be sleeping the next few nights – but I’m sad knowing that I won’t be discovering new places every minute of every day.

Saying good bye to Daniel today was really, really sad. He and I became great friends during these three weeks and it’ll be strange not waking up to him throwing a fit about being covered in ants or being pissed off about sleeping on some rocks on the ground. The guy is completely unique. Like a great work of art that was created during some very hard and trying times – as they often are. He has if anything reinforced my notion that the most interesting people have often had very difficult lives. Daniel’s life experience has taught him to never expect anything. He has zero sense of entitlement and just works his ass off for every step he takes in life.

I’m probably a bit too tired to be trying to sum this whole journey up right now – and I think it might be too early for that just yet anyhow. I’m going to have to let this all sink in for a while. Meanwhile, have a few pictures of the Sierras:

 

Daniel fighting his way up Luther Pass (the shorter one before Carson Pass).

 

An energy block I found on the ground and ate. This is how desperate you get for energy. It wasn’t bad – just a little bit dusty.

 

Red Lake.

Red Lake again…

This one might have been called Green Lake. 

There were a lot of lakes in the sierras! 

 

 

In the middle of nowhere, we found a super cozy little bar. The building had been there for about 150 years and had a beautiful wood interior. It was sat right atop a place where three county lines intersected – and the bartender told us about how they used to make use of this back in the day. Back then the bar was actually on wheels, so when someone from county A walked through the door, they’d roll the bar into county B and therefore not have to pay any liquor taxes. The bar was now safely fastened to the ground and liquor taxes seem to be paid. Cool little spot though!

And then my camera died and I have no pictures at all until this morning! Here’s a photo of the white Cherokee belonging to the man selling crystal meth.

 

And here my breakfast from this morning. Ridonkulous. You know how much it cost?! $27!!! Something must have gone wrong with the check but when I asked about it the waitress explained that the pancakes cost $7.80, the bacon and eggs totaled at $5.50 (and then I had coffee and OJ) plus tax. That supposedly cost $27. I thanked her, paid and tipped. About an hour later I went “wait a minute, that does not make sense at all”. But then it was too late. I must have had a sign on my forehead saying “RIP ME OFF I’M SWEDISH”. Or sales tax is really high in California.

 

 

 

I donated the shirt John gave me to Daniel. It suited him better I think!!

Here’s the ONLY picture of san francisco so far:

 

That’s the golden gate bridge you’re looking at. It was so cloudy and cold that we left pretty quick. But I did set foot in San Fran – that’s what matters.

OK. Good night. This is weird. I don’t know when I’ll be back on here – but I will. I want to thank some people – and I have some movie clips to put up. So I’ll be back. Maybe tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Not my last post

  1. Hey Stephan, I want to congratulate you and thank you for sharing so much of your experience with us. You are an inspiring sort with your humour & love for people and life. Thank you sooooo much! Tommy

  2. Gather you can be left with a empty feeling when you have achieved something great like you just did. It’s so overwhelming with all experiences and now when Daniel left and your are on your own it can be tough So stay in the moment, as Cecilia said. Lots of love until seeing you friday morning.

Leave a Reply

